Blueberry Jam

Some time ago I made multiple purchases from Brambleberry.  In two of the packages I received a sample scent, Blueberry Jam.  I knew as soon as I smelled this scent I wanted to use it and make something yummy!

img_2013-1

This week I decided to work on adding something new to my soaps.  I wanted a rich, creamy, decadent soap.  The special ingredient, heavy cream!  Once I knew I was going to use cream, I also knew I would use the glorious Blueberry Jam scent.

I did some research to determine how much and when to add the cream.  After reading and reading, I decided that I would add about 5% cream to my oils after they reached trace and to reduce the distilled water by the same amount.  For this bar, my ingredients include: Coconut Oil, Avocado Oil, Sunflower Oil, Castor Oil, Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Mango Butter and of course heavy cream.

img_2016
Heavy Cream

I decided to make a 32 ounce loaf, which meant I’d reduce the required distilled water by 1.6 ounces and once the butters and oils reach trace, I’d add 1.6 ounces of heavy cream to everything.

img_2017

I separated my batter into two batches.  In one batch I added blue mica and left the other batter as is.  I then poured the white batter into the mold and using the drop swirl technique, I added the blue in various heights.  I followed this with a hanger swirl.

img_2018

img_2019

I could not quite figure out what to do with my top.  I really need to work on this.

img_2021

I was excited to cut this beauty and was pleasantly surprised.
img_2197

I have to admit, this is one of my favorite bars.  She smells delicious and feels creamy.  The bubbles were thick and long lasting and left my skin feeling so incredibly soft and smooth.  I will definitely be adding heavy cream and triple butters to my future soaps.

If you’d like to give her a try, Blueberry Jam is available on the etsy site.  Use code CAWEB to take 20% off.  Treat your skin today!

Leave a Reply

