Green Apple Pie

After my beer debacle, I found myself needing to make a new soap, one that wouldn’t be such a mess.  I wanted a greenish soap, in time for St. Patrick’s Day.  I really wanted my beer soap to be my St. Patrick’s day soap, but we know that’s not happening.

The day after I made the beer soap, I was home cleaning up and I came across a bottle of walnut oil.

img_1966

After doing some research, I found it’s a great oil to soap with.  In the blog Summer Bee Meadow, it says, “Walnut Oil-An emollient oil which is said to help regenerate, tone and moisturize damaged dry skin and to aid in preventing wrinkles, controlling eczema, dandruff and rough, dry or sunburned skin”.  With that I decided to make soap.

I used:

  • Coconut Oil
  • Mango Butter
  • Avocado Oil
  • Castor Oil
  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Shea Butter
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Walnut Oil

I also soaped at room temperature (LOVED the consistency of my oil/butter/lye mixture).  It was slow to trace, but stayed fluid.  I have to remember this when I want to try more complicated designs.

Keeping green in mind, I decided to try 4 different colors, 3 different greens and the natural color of the soap.

Since this was a spare of the moment soap, I used a scent I already had Brambleberry’s Hot Apple Pie.  I love this scent, really makes me crave a slice of apple pie!

Once I had my colors blended and mixed with my oils, I poured into the mold.  I did a high drop with a hanger swirl.

img_1972img_1973

Then I swirled the top.

img_1975img_1974

Soaping at room temperature left me with plenty of time to swirl and work with my soap.  I wrapped this beauty up because I wanted the colors to pop.  Unfortunately, she overheated and cracked a little.

img_1981
Boo! the crack, but it’s not the end of the world.  I love the colors!!
img_1991
A good view of the swirls.

If you wish to try this soap, you can pick her up on the etsy page and take 20% off using code CAWEB.

Leave a Reply

