When Soap Turns UGH!!

I’ve seen a lot of soapers using various liquids in place of the distilled water in their soaps.  This week I decided to try soaping with beer.  After doing some research I realized this is considered an advance technique.  While I am not an advanced soaper, I decided, why not give it a try.   Adding beer to your soap isn’t as easy as swapping out distilled water and adding beer.  A few more steps are required.

First thing  Since my husband and I are beer drinkers, we had plenty of beers to chose from.

Devils Backbone Brewing Company

I opened the bottle and let it sit for about 24 hours.  I then boiled it for 10 – 15 minutes.  After that, I measured what I needed and placed it into the freezer.  Once it was somewhat frozen, I added the lye and as you can see below it heated up quickly!  I can only imagine how hot it would have been it I started at room temperature.

I waited for this to get under 120 degrees before soaping (in the future, I’ll do this the night before and wait until the lye mixture is in the 70’s).

I added my warm lye mixture to the oils and butters, made a pretty color.

img_1936
This took time to reach trace.

I then added beer fragrance from Nature’s Garden.

img_1935

I then poured about a third of my oil/butter combo into a container and added Mad Oil’s Enchanted Green mica.

img_1969

I had envisioned a natural colored soap with green swirls, I had imagined hanger swirls.  After mixing the green mica into the oils, I went back to the natural color and that’s where my smile turned upside down.

It all seized!!

img_1937
At this point I just wanted to toss it all.

I smashed it, as best I could into the mold.  Not being 100% sure what to do with the top, I just grabbed a fork and added lines.

img_1938

I unmolded after 24 hours.

img_1946
So not pretty.

I had planned to keep this soap and not give it to anyone.  I mean, can you blame me, she is far from attractive.  After slicing, I took a bar and placed by the kitchen sink.  That same day, my son used the bar and said, “Hey, that ugly bar is nice!”  I tried and it is was really nice.  It lathered quickly and the lather felt extremely creamy.  Once I rinsed my hands felt perfect!  After a few more weeks, I tried a bar in the shower.  My husband and I were pleasantly surprised.  Again, it provided a rich creamy lather.  While showering the beer smell was pretty strong.  Once out of the shower, we did not smell like beer and our skin felt super soft and smooth.  I will definitely be using this recipe again!

Since she is not the prettiest, I will be giving this ugly bar to friends and family, with a note to give her a try.  If you would like to purchase a bar via paypal for $4.00 + shipping & handling, please send me an email CheriesApothecary@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

