Smells Like Hot Chocolate

I  personally test every batch of soap I make.  For me, it’s one of the benefits of making soap, having a ton of soaps to use.  So far, one of my favorite soap recipes is the one I used for Radiant. While the look of the soap wasn’t one of my favorites, I LOVE the way this soap makes my skin feel.  It has been my go to recipe when I want to soap but don’t know where to begin.

I planned on using the same recipe to make a hot chocolate soap, but I found myself low on sweet almond oil.  I decided to remove it, and replace it with avocado oil.  I kept my fingers crossed that I would get a bar that fulfilled all my needs.  This bar contains coconut oil, sunflower oil, avocado oil, shea butter, castor oil and cocoa butter.  I didn’t add any additional color, because I believe the hot cocoa scent, will darken  over time…I really hope it does.

I split my oils into two containers.

img_1891
My oils and butterrs

In one container I added Nature’s Garden Hot Cocoa scent and left the other unscented.

Hot Cocoa from Nature’s Garden smells just  like a hot cup of cocoa!

I then poured the scented oils into the mold.

img_1892 I then poured the unscented oils into the mold at varying levels.  I thought about doing a hanger swirl, but opted not to this time.  I then used the last of my scented oils to place on top, to give a marshmallow topping appearance.  I’ve seen this a lot and hoped to create a similar look.

img_1894

I really need to get icing bags and tips, so I can make more intricate designs.  One day…  I placed her in a shoe box, then wrapped a towel around her for 24 hours.

img_1895

When I unwrapped her, I started feeling better.  I could see the color beginning to change.

img_1897

Above is what she looked like after 24 hours, below is what she looks like today


The smell is super delish.  My daughter is obsessed with this soap.  I think she’s secretly hiding them and giving them to her friends.  If you want a bar, hurry up, I don’t think these will last long.  Use code CAWEB and take an additional 20% off today!!

Leave a Reply

