Butter & Honey

This week I decided to try my hand at soaping with honey.  I admit, I was a bit timid.  I have seen and read so much, I had a million questions.

  • How much do I add?
  • When do I add the honey?
  • Do I need to freeze my soap?
  • What if I add too much honey?
  • What if I don’t freeze it?

Just a few of my never-ending questions.  I opted to just do it and make the soap already.

I collected all my favorite butters and oils: coconut oil, sunflower oil, olive oil, shea butter, cocoa butter and castor oil.

 

Once everything was all melted and blended, I added my lye water.  When it hit slight trace, I added the raw, unfiltered honey.

img_1761
Honey in the middle of the oils and butters.

For this I decided to go with two micas and the soap’s natural color.

img_1765
Mad Oils Goldfinger Mica and Wholesale Supplies Plus Lapis Blue Mica Powder

The honey increased the acceleration, so it did not flow the way I wanted.  I was able to get her in the mold, use a hanger swirl and create a pretty top.

img_1784
Ahhhh the beauty of wet soap!

Once out of the mold and cut, I was very impressed.  Scented with Champagne Kisses fragrance oil, this is a light, yet bubbly scent.  LOVE this soap!

img_1780
Looks a bit purplish here, but its blue.

I test all of my soaps (one of the benefits of being a soaper).  This bar is creamy and ultra moisturizing.  Even with the cold temperatures here on the east cost, my hands are not drying out after washing with this bar.

Butter & Honey is now available in the etsy store.  Stop by and use code CAWEB for an additional 20% off.

 

 

 

One thought on “Butter & Honey

Leave a Reply

