Hearts

I decided to work with an embed this week.  Since Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching, I selected a heart.  What I pictured, in my crazy head, was a thick layer of pink or dark pink on the bottom, then a white top with the bright red heart placed on the left side of the soap. I wanted a luscious, textured top…I was not 100% sure of how I pictured that, but I just wanted it to be pretty.

I few weeks back I ordered a pretty heart mold from Brambleberry.  I made my heart column then went to work on the rest of the soap.

I ended up having to cut this, since I use such a small mold

I picked rose kaolin clay to naturally color the bottom half of my soap and added a little white for the top.  For my fragrance I used Brambleberry’s Crisp Apple Rose.


I LOVE this scent, light, sweet…just perfect.

My soap thickened up quickly on me.  I’m not 100% sure why.  When I read the reviews of the scent, I don’t recall reading that acceleration was a problem.   I added my lye water at a pretty cool temp @ 100, and my oils were in the 90s.  Could it have been too hot?  Maybe the combination of oils used…I’m still not really sure.  I’ll use this recipe again and see if it happens using a different scent.  I like the recipe: coconut oil, sunflower oil, shea butter, olive oil, castor oil, and cocoa butter.  I may need to make some adjustments to get it how I want and I’m more than willing to work on that.

Since I had so much trouble getting her into the mold, I don’t have a lot of pictures of the process.  I really need to work on this.  While I’m soaping, my mind goes to another place.  The next post will be better…I hope.

This is the final soap, in her mold and looking pretty, despite all drama she caused.


From the top, you can’t see my struggle.  But once I cut, I could see it.



Dreaded air pockets!  I know I banged the mold on the table many times, yet it was not enough.   The bottom isn’t as thick as I would have liked, but in this size mold, I think it’s probably the best it can be.  I’ll do this again, but I need to get a tall mold.  I think this design will look awesome in a tall mold.  Overall I am pleased with this first attempt.  She is pretty and smells amazing, isn’t that what we all want?

fullsizerender-20

Want to give My Heart a try?  She’s available in the etsy store.  Just use code CAWEB for 20% off.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

