My Soaping Steps

I love learning about soaping.  Not only the ingredients people use but the steps they take to make their soap.  I decided to work on a post about the steps I take for each and every soap.  Trust me, they aren’t glamorous or exciting, just basic steps to make sure I can make the soap I want.

Step 1:

Mix my lye water.  I’m a multi-user.  I like to reuse items.  This is a lemonade container.  My family loves this stuff, so I have plenty.  It makes me feel better reusing disposable items a couple of times before I toss it in the recycle bin.

img_1610

Step 2:

Once my lye water is mixed I begin the process of preparing to soap.  First I paper my work area.  I again recycle, using the newspaper mailers that we seem to receive daily.

img_1609

Step 3:

Next I get my colors organized.  For this I used Brambleberry’s King’s Gold Mica, Electric Bubble Gum and Snowflake Sparkle Mica

As you can see, I was out of spoons…knives will have to do.

Step 4:

Line my mold.  I hate this part, but it’s a necessary evil.  I made soap once without lining the mold.  It quickly turned into a soapfail.


Step 5:

Begin heating my oils and butters.  This is when the fun begins…kinda sorta.

Enter a caption

Step 6:

Once all oils and butters have liquefied and my lye water is the proper temp, I mix and begin blending.

img_1626

 

Using the lemonade container lid, I have a place to put my stickblender when not in use.

Once I hit trace, I pour my mixture into the containers with the colors.  I blend a little more, then pour into the mold.

After adding a little design on top and right before wrapping and putting away for at least 24 hours
After 24 hours, the colors have changed quite a bit!

I took this out of the mold and let it sit for another 24 hours, then I cut into bars.

Right after slicing
After 6 weeks.  It really darkened up!!

This is what she looks like today.  The fragrance oil that I used (Radiant Red Maple, from Wholesale Supplies Plus) caused it to brown.


When I first cut it, I thought next time, I would add white so the soap wouldn’t brown.  After a few weeks out, I loved the brown edges and white interior.  Six weeks out with it all browned, I’m not 100% sure how I feel about it.  One thing for sure, the look is pretty unique.  What I do love is the smell.  The smell is amazing!  A soft outdoorsy smell, Radiant is perfect for men and women.

***I have not added Radiant to the etsy shop.  I think these bars are better sold in person.  The coloring is odd and difficult to appreciate through a picture, at least I cannot capture it. Radiant is made with coconut oil, sweet almond oil, cocoa butter, shea butter, sunflower oil, and castor oil.  I love using this soap!  It leaves my skin feeling soft and super moisturized.  I’ll give as gifts and sell at the next craft fair I attend.  If you’d like to purchase a bar ($4.00 + shipping and handling), please send me an email.

 

4 thoughts on “My Soaping Steps

Leave a Reply

