Bombs of the Bath

Today I decided to try my hand at making bath bombs. What are bath bombs?  They are a perfect way to add fizz, scent and moisture to your bath.

The basic recipe for a bath bomb is 2 parts baking soda to 1 part citric acid powder.  You take this dry part and mix it with your liquids of your choice, mold and ta-dah you have a bath bomb. You must be careful to mix your liquids a little at a time, too much you may have a mini-explosion; too little you’ll end up with dry, cracked molds.

I started with my baking soda, citric acid and epsom salt.  I was raised that a relaxing bath requires epsom salt.  For my liquid I decided to test with olive oil, since I had that handy.

img_1216
All my dry ingredients together.

Then I slowly added my liquids.  I added and mixed, added and mixed.  I did this until it had a wet sand consistency.

img_1217
I added a little blue dye, if you can see the specks of blue.

Then I put this into an ice cube tray and waited.

img_1219
Nothing too fancy here!

I have to say I am pleased with the result.  While they are not that pretty, they fizz and provide a super moisturizing bath or foot soak.

**UPDATE**

Since I made this batch I created new and improved bath square. I decided to use the smaller squares because my husband asked for something he could add to his foot soak.  1 square is perfect for a relaxing foot soak and 2 for a luxurious bath. My new and improved squares contain epsom salt, bentonite clay, coconut oil and sweet almond oil.

I decided to use bentonite clay in my bath squares because the clay draws out toxins from the skin.  In my humble opinion, taking a relaxing bath, should involve the removal of toxins.  Trust me, your skin will thank you!!


I made a variety of scents. Let me know which is your favorite.

Check them out on my etsy page, only $3.00 for a set of 4.  Use code CAWEB for a 20% discount.

Leave a Reply

