My First Time

I am obsessed with handmade soap. I can and have lost quite a bit of time drooling over Instagram and watching videos about soap.

It didn’t take much for me to take the leap and attempt to make my own cold press soap.  I used a combination of coconut oil, palm oil, olive oil and castor oil.  This all came in a kit purchased from Brambleberry, Beginner’s Cold Process Soap Kit.  I highly recommend it.  The directions were clear, concise and the entire process was easier than expected.

Before I added the lye water.

Right before I wrapped a towel around my soap.

Then I waited.  I waited 24 long, excruciating hours.  Like a kid staring at the Christmas tree, just wanting so desperately to open their gift.  When it came time to remove it from the mold, I was so excited, I forgot to take a picture.  I didn’t forget once I cut the soap and place them on the rack for the next 6 weeks.

I admit, not the best colors.  But sometimes, you have to use what you got.  I placed an order a little while ago for some colors and scents.  I can’t wait to get those.  In the meantime, I’ll be working on some recipes.

3 thoughts on “My First Time

  1. Hi fellow soaper. I have been making soap for almost 4 years now and love to see people successfully making their own. You did a wonderful job. I loo forward to more on your soap making adventure. Feel free to check out mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

