Soap Fails Happen

If you follow me on instagram, you know I’ve started making my own soap.  I ordered a kit from Brambleberry and created my first soap ( I added the colors).  I was immediately hooked.  After doing more research, I created my own recipe.

I combined coconut oil, shea butter, olive oil, Sweet almond oil and canola oil to lye and distilled water to create my soap.  I then added activated charcoal and bentonite clay, plus peppermint essential oil.

img_1316
Isn’t she pretty?

I wrapped and tucked her away and started counting down the seconds until I could unwrap my creation.  I checked after 24 hours and noticed soda ash (What is soda ash?  It is typically caused by any free sodium in sodium hydroxide interacting with oxygen, fragrance or heat to form sodium carbonate on the surface of the soap.  It is not harmful, just doesn’t look pretty) and I also noticed that the soap was still a little soft, so I wrapped her back up and tucked her away for another 24 hours.

The next day I went back and despite it still not being as hard as I thought it should be, I decided to unmold anyway.  HUGE MISTAKE!

Not pretty whatsoever!!  Mistake #1 I neglected to do was wrap my mold before pouring the soap in.  Mistake #2 I unmolded a bit too quickly.  I should have waited until it was ready, maybe another 24 hours…

After more time passed I decided it was time to cut and attempt to clean  the soap.  I read an article in Modern Soapmaking about how to get rid of soda ash.  After cutting the soap into @ 1 inch thick slices, I dunked them in distilled water.

img_1318
Not perfect, but not too shabby either!

The early, unlined unmolding did its damage.

img_1322

But this can be cut off and made to look pretty.  A little trimming and this can be a real beauty.

fullsizerender-5
Can’t wait for this to be ready

These will be ready in about 6 weeks, and I cannot wait.  They may not be the prettiest, but I know they will do wonders on your skin.  Activated charcoal and bentonite clay along with shea butter will draw out the impurities, deep clean and moisturize your skin.  Give it a try.  These @4 oz bars will be on sale on my etsy site for a deeply discounted $3.50 + shipping and handling.

Leave a Reply

